Running Playlist

Hi all,

So just to keep you all motivated to maintain those New Years resolutions of getting fit and healthy, I thought I would curate a list of my favourite running songs. However, as a disclaimer, I have been told I have a strange idea of what a good running song is. Why? Because I absolutely love to run to ballads. Yeap. Heart wrenching, soul tearing ballads. But with a mix of fun songs as well!!

1. Florence and the Machine – Dog Days are Over

I know this song is by no means a shocking choice, and I’m sure is already on a lot of your running playlists. For me, it was one of those songs when I was just sick of my usual running list and decided to put my whole ipod on shuffle and hope for the best. As soon as I heard ‘Run fast for your mother, run fast for your fatherrr’ I was instantly in high gear. Such a fun song to push yourself to!

2. Hozier – Take Me to Church

This song is so dreamy to me. It’s a song that makes me feel just a bit bad-ass when I’m listening to it. In that sort of twisted love song way. I’m not sure why I like to run to it. To be honest, it may just be because this song is so interesting to me that I somewhat forget the fact that I’m running and just let me body do it’s thing. I find a lot of the hard part of running is when I think too much about the task I’m doing, so a song like this helps me escape that.

3. Beyonce – Hello

My favourite ballad. Without a doubt. A little vintage (is it old enough to be considered vintage??) Beyonce is just prime for any time of my day BUT especially when I’m running. As I’m sure this blog will eventually tell – I’m a Beyonce fanatic. My boyfriend surprised me with tickets to go see her at Rogers Arena last November and it was maybe one of the most magical nights of my life. Sigh, what a dream. Anyways, like I said before, ballads too help me forget the task at hand and just enjoy the moment so I’m not as preoccupied counting down how many minutes (ok sometimes I even convert it to seconds) I have left.

** Another good one is Beyonce’s ‘I Was Here’ but I’ll try to refrain form turning this into an all Beyonce list.

4. Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk

I CANNOT SIT STILL WHILE LISTENING TO THIS SONG. Anyone who says they can is lying. Honestly, the first time I heard this song was in the car with Shawn and he immediately turned it up and started dancing (don’t worry, I was driving!) and yelled over to me ‘THIS IS MY SONG’. I think this song has that effect on everyone, as we welcomed 2015 in with open arms last night, we turned this song on and just danced our bums off! So yes, it is a perfect running song or really any type of movement song. You just can’t help but be happy about it.

5. Tove Lo – Habits

I think this song is as addicting as the ‘habits’ she’s discussing. It’s become one of my favourites. I never get sick of it. Like many songs I’ve discussed already, it’s just so fascinating to me that I get lost in the words. I don’t think I need to say much about this song, either you are going to love it like I do – or it will be a song that just doesn’t do it for you and that’s cool too.

So those are my favourites, let me know in the comments what you guys love to run to too! I’m always looking for new running music! It’s so important to not get bored and to switch it up!

xoxo

Alice Rose

2 thoughts on “Running Playlist

Leave a Reply

